Almost 2 years later

Posted: December 11, 2016 in About Us, Testimony
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Boy does time fly. I was sitting here thinking it’s been a while since I updated this blog. I though I would get on and check things out. Could be Holy Spirit telling me it’s time to get serious about it so let’s see if I can update you all and keep up with monthly updates in the future. My last post was February 2015 it’s almost Jan 2017. Here’s a quick wrap of 2015

2015 our first year in ministry full-time. Then as a family of 5 with 3 children I’ll start there. Our kids have grown so much not only physically but spiritually. From the times they would join us in prayer room or the times they would join me in my class room they sought the Lord. Our littlest at the time Elijah would be strapped to me as I tought my classes and I could see him receiving everything I would be saying . It’s just amazing how the Lord uses these little ones to keep us connected to him. Even as I’m sitting here typing this they are upstairs singing praise songs. Our kids made it though year one like champs. As a mom I did worry about burning them out given my schedule and Travis’s schedule each week. We  wanted them to enjoy our work and still be able to do things they wanted as well. This was doable by taking the time each week to ask them what the wanted to do and doing it. We send a lot of time at the pool. With that let’s recap my fist year teaching. It was a learning experience to say the least. I had so much down poured on me from the Lord as far as lessons to teach, songs to sing and activities to do. It was a challenge to get it all out and in a way a little heart could understand. I remember teaching a class on fruit of spirit and a little one telling me she loved the class but it was a bit heavy for her heart. I smiled and told her I’ll try a different approach next class. I went home and prayed about how to reach them with out blowing their minds. Our next lesson was better. So 2015 I mostly tought the lessons and helped in the class rooms. I also helped with One Thing this year as a helper and teacher. One Thing is a big young adult conference the House of Prayer does each year. The children equipping center offers sessions for ages 5-12. It was my first year teaching. As far as the year before I would only help in class room. This was a way to reach little hearts outside of our community. There are so many families from all over who come to this conference. As for Travis this year he spent time doing outreach to the local residential facilities, mentoring and time in prayer room I’ll have him type out an update of his 2 years in ministry and I’ll post it next.

Year 2 was much like year one but deeper. Our kids got older our family grew. My lessons got deeper. 2016 was an amazing year for me I worked on two lesson plans more on fruit of the spirit, and I did a lesson plan on Matthew 5 Jesus sermon on the mountain. I really enjoyed the time spent with the lord putting these lessons together. I also help direct our first Littles Summer Camp. This involved lesson plans, games, activities, and pure fun for three days. We put on two camps this year. After summer camps ended I stared to teach my third two-week class for a program called Tender Shoots. It’s a two-week course the Children equipping center does to offer weekday classes. This time around was special to me, I tought with Kelly (another teacher I work with) about Jesus in the feast. (I’m planning in doing a follow-up post about my teachings).

Some other exciting news for 2016. I got pregnant with out fourth child and we gave birth to him in the 10th of November 2016. Now as a family of six were completing our second year in ministry. Trusting the Lord in all things we do and he is there with us every step of the way. He is there in highs and lows. He is our shoulder to cry on and our hand to hold. He provided for us every month. Showed us miracle in healing (testimony to come) and increased our faith. Our life is not ideal for many but it’s perfect for us. During the end of this year I’m taking a ministry brake to be with little Benjamin. And Travis will continue the work the Lord as given us in children ministry. While on brake I will keep this blog updated on what Travis is doing and how our family is adjusting to four little.

I hope this quick update helps catch you up with our ministry. Things to look for, Travis update on his first two years, my lesson plans teaching at the Children equipping center, how we trust the lord with our finances, how God showed us he is a healer and what’s to come for 2017 with the Miles family.

Leave a Reply

